RSS Feed

Peach and Ginger Crostata

I’ve never been that adept at baking. I blame my hot hands. That’s why I love that rustic take on the tart, the crostata. First of all, the crust has more bite when it’s wrapped around fresh fruit like a beggar’s purse.

When I was trailing at Spiaggia in Chicago, we used to thinly slice apples and layer them in a crostata, with cinnamon sugar. Since the peaches were still so beautiful this week, I thought I’d take advantage of that. I tossed sliced peaches in cinnamon sugar, added some minced fresh ginger and wrapped a crostata dough around them. Savory ingredients in pastries are always a plus, and peaches and ginger are such classic playmates that I couldn’t resist.

Peach Crostata

Ingredients

Crostata Crust:

1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

2 pinches salt

1 egg

6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes

Milk

Peach Filling:

Peaches, quartered

Cinnamon sugar

Fresh ginger, peeled and minced

Procedure

Crostata Crust:

Put the flour, sugar and salt in the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with a dough hook attachment. With the machine on low, slowly add the egg, then the butter. Be sure not to overmix. If the mixture is still too dry, add a few drops of milk. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and put in the freezer for 30 minutes, or until it gets very cold. When the dough is cold, roll out. Chill again, then remove from the fridge and cut into circles about 3 inches in diameter. Chill until ready to stuff.

Peach Filling:

Toss the peach in cinnamon sugar. Put the peach and ginger in the center of the circles of dough. Bring the edges of the dough around the peach and bake at 350 degrees F until the crust is golden. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.

About francoiseeats

I'm currently working as a freelance travel and food writer, and photographer. I spent two years at StarChefs.com, the culinary on-line magazine for the industry insider. My articles have been published in New York, NY and Richmond, VA. After graduating from Columbia University and recovering from the tragedy of not being able to read Camus books for a living, I attended The Culinary Institute of America, where my scone consumption rose drastically. Fluent in French and Italian, I've worked in some of New York's top restaurants and covered food-related stories in a number of publications, from The Richmond Times-Dispatch to Time Out New York.

Leave a Reply

